Chicago / Design / One of a Kind Show

Q and A with Brynn

Brynn Capella-headshot-FGIYou are a Cali girl at heart, what are your secrets to embracing the horrible Chicago weather?

Layers and Sorels!  I’ve learned to layer (actually in every season), because Chicago weather is so fickle.  Uggs also get me through the winters, even though I wore those when I was in High School to the beach in California to watch the surfers.  I will say that I do love actually having seasons, mainly because Fall is my favorite season.  Not only do I love seeing the leaves turn colors and crisp nights, but I get to wear winter clothes and not just to make a fashion statement.

You use the quote “Fashions fade, style is eternal” by Yves Saint Laurent, besides your bags, what is a staple in your wardrobe?

Denim.  I wear denim almost every day.  I love that I can dress them up or keep it casual and they go with everything.

What is your favorite bag that you make and why?

It’s hard to pick a favorite, because every bag is designed after a friend of mine.  But I’d have to say the Lauren, as it’s the bag I use 90% of the time.  Although you can wear it so many different ways, I tend to usually wear it only two. The Zee is a favorite because so much thought went into all the design elements.  It’s my go-to travel bag or when I really need to carry a lot with me.

What are the must have items that you carry in your purse at all times?

My must have items are: my Cher wristlet, Tom key tag, iphone, loose make-up (tons of lip gloss, ya never know what color you’ll be in the mood for and mascara), Business cards, Sunglasses, and gum or mints.

We have been in an era where everything seems to be made abroad, what drove you to keep production local?

When I first started, I made every single item myself.  When the demand got too much for me, I knew I needed to find some help.  But the thought of even going to NYC or LA, let alone overseas, was so daunting and time-consuming.  I wanted to be a part of the day-to-day process of making my handbags.  The business has never been about the money for me.  As an American Designer, I always wanted to be American Made too.

Is there anything else you wanted to mention?

I love my customers.  The understanding and appreciation for what I do is truly felt whether it’s the boutique owners or the many women of all ages.  I have some yearly events and when customers come back to show me their bag year after year, it’s awesome!
OKC2014_Logo_Dates_noURL_rgb

Speaking of which, don’t forget to catch Brynn at the One of a Kind Show at the Merchandise Mart in Chicago this week, December 4 – 7! Click the logo for access to free tickets!

Leave a Reply

