Fashion / Style / Summer

Statement Pieces: Part 1 – Necklace

When I first got to the city a few months ago, I would look around at all of the beautiful people, and outfits, I would see walking by me and it got me thinking … how can I make people stop and stare at me as I walk by?! After some serious reflection, I realized that I would do a double take, or hold my gaze so long the person noticed, whenever they were rocking a “statement piece”.  Once I knew what I was looking for I started to see statements being made around every corner; some were amazing and some were just awful.

I thought about it a little more and decided that since it took me this long to figure out the statement secret that I would share it.

The number one thing to remember is that if you are going to use a statement piece, you need to remember that it is going to draw attention to not only you, but to that piece as well. So my personal advice – Make sure the piece is quality and deserves the attention of every person you pass!

Here are a few of my new “Go-To” statement choices for summer.

Up first:  The Statement Necklace

By this point, I think everyone knows how to go out and buy a $9.99 chunky necklace, wear it once and have the beads start falling off.  My personal favorite “Statement Necklace” is one I got for Christmas this year and has been worn at least once a week since getting it. The key is to find one that can stand out no matter what you are wearing without looking out of place.  I have worn this one to weddings, out dancing, to class, basically everywhere and anywhere.  The bonus, my precious necklace came from Macy’s and was only $50, not a bad price for one of my favorite items I own.

The moral of this tip – invest in a nice statement necklace, or three, and wait for the compliments to start rolling in. Be on the lookout all week for other statement piece advice!

Xoxo

-PRgirlJamie

Leave a Reply

